Canva is a very good and easy-to-use graphic design tool that can be used by people with little or no experience at all. However, after using it for a while, you might have decided to delete your account for one reason or the other.
Some of the reasons for which you may decide to delete your account include:
- You unknowingly created multiple Canva accounts and would like to delete one or more
- You have fallen out of love with the tool
- You have found a new tool that is easier to use
- You just don’t have time to use it again or many other reasons
Knowing the exact reason why you want to delete your Canva account is essential because, for some of the reasons, there could be a better solution than just deleting your account. However, if you are very certain that deleting your Canva account is the ultimate thing to do then, you will find all the details in this article.
Let us, therefore, explore the types of Canva accounts that are available then subsequently look at how you can delete your account on either desktop or phone.
Types of Canva account
Canva has 3 types of accounts namely free, pro, and enterprise
- With the free account, Canva offers you
- 250,000+ free templates
- 100+ design types (including social media posts, presentations, letters, etc)
- 5GB of cloud-based storage
- The chance to collaborate with other people and comment in real-time
- Invite members to your team
- Plenty of free photos and graphics (hundreds of thousands)
The pro account has a trial period of 30 days. However, you can pay a monthly rate of $12.99 or $119.99 for the entire year. The Pro account has more features than the free account. Here are some of the features you will get when using the pro version.
- Entire features of the free version in addition to
- 100GB of cloud storage
- Save designs as templates for your team to use
- Schedule social media content to 8 platforms
- Resize designs infinitely with Magic Resize
- The ability to remove image backgrounds instantly with the Background remover tool
- Easily save and apply your own brand or campaign colors, logos, and fonts with up to 100 Brand Kits
- Over 610,000 premium and free templates with new designs daily
- And over 100+ million premium stock photos, videos, audio, and graphics.
Canva for Enterprise is built for any team or organization that needs to design at scale. The enterprise account is ideal for growing teams who need all the productivity and smart design features of Canva Pro with advanced controls.
It also gives you and your team the chance to collaborate and publish on-brand designs at scale.
Canva for Enterprise is $30.00 per month per user paid annually.
Below are the features of the Canva Enterprise account
- All the features of the Pro account
- The ability to establish your brand’s visual identity with logos, colors, and fonts across multiple brand kits.
- Control your team’s access to apps, graphics, colors, logos, and fonts with brand controls
- The ability to control team uploads into Canva
- Built-in workflows to get approval on your designs
- The chance to set which elements your team can edit and stay on-brand with template locking
- Unlimited storage
- Signe-sign on (SSO)
- 24/7 Enterprise-level support
How to delete a Canva account
You should bear in mind that once your account is deleted, it cannot be recovered. Canva Pro users should first cancel their subscription before deleting their accounts to avoid continuous charges.
In addition to deleting your account, all your designs, folders, templates, uploads, as well as teams, and apps that you created will be permanently deleted as well.
Your account will be deleted 14 days after request. This means that after initiating the account deletion process, you have up to 14 days to contemplate whether you truly want to delete your account or not.
So, if the deletion request was initiated by accident, you are allowed to cancel the request before the 14 days is due. You can cancel your Canva account deletion request by simply logging in to your account.
Let’s take a look at three different ways you can delete your Canva account. You can delete your Canva account on your desktop, phone, and through email. Let’s take a look
How to delete Canva account on desktop
- On your desktop, log in to your Canva account
- Go to profile
- Click “account settings”
- Select “login and security”
- Select the “delete account” option in the login and security
- Click on ‘Delete Account,’ and you will see the following instructions. Read through them, then if you are sure of your choice, type ‘delete’ in the given space and click on ‘Delete Account.’
How to delete Canva account on phone
To delete Canva on your phone
- Open the Canva app
- Sign in to your account
- On the homepage, select “menu”
- In the menu section, go to personal
- Select “login and security” located under the account setting
- Click on ‘Login & Security’ in the personal.
- Find the ‘Delete Account’ option in the account settings.
- After clicking on the delete option, follow the instructions that pop up then type delete in the given space if you are certain about deleting your account
- Click “delete account”
How to delete Canva account through email
Here is how to delete your Canva account through email
- Open your email app or account
- Compose a new email
- Write ‘Request to Delete Account’ in the subject.
- Compose a structured email addressing your issue with your account and the reason to delete it.
- Make sure to request them to delete your personal information and other details from your account.
- Send the email to email@example.com
- Your account will be taken off the customer database permanently within 14 days after confirmation.
What happens when I delete my account?
When you delete your account, it cannot be recovered. In addition, all your designs, folders, templates, uploads, as well as teams, and apps that you created will be permanently deleted as well.
Canva Pro users should first cancel their subscription before deleting their accounts to avoid continuous charges.
Will my account be deleted if I cancel my subscription?
Your account will not be deleted if you cancel your subscription. Once you cancel your subscription, you will revert to the free standard Canva account.
Is deleting my account the same as deactivating my account?
Yes, deleting your account is the same as deactivating your account.
Why can’t I delete my account?
If you cannot delete your account, it likely means that you own a Creator or Contributor team. These teams can only be removed by Canva themselves.
This is done to prevent Canva designs using your library content from breaking and to also allow Canva to continue paying you the royalties that you deserve.
By contacting Canva using this link, https://www.canva.com/help/article/contributor-support-form you will be able to request deletion of your public details and for the deactivation of your library content so it is not available for new designs
If I delete my account will team members lose the files that I shared with them?
Deleting your account is not the same as deleting a team. Deleting your team will delete all designs and files for everyone on the team. Therefore, deleting your account will not affect the files you shared.
Can I recover a deleted account?
No, you cannot recover a deleted account. Once your account is deleted, all your designs, folders, templates, uploads, as well as teams, and apps that you created will be permanently deleted as well.
However, you can recover your account within 14 days after the initiation of the account deletion process. Within that period, the account wouldn’t have been deleted yet.
If I delete my account, can I sign up again with the same email at a later time?
You can sign up again with the same email at a later time once the previous account has been permanently deleted. However, you won’t get access to all the designs you did on your previous account.
Some more information on Canva
Founded in 2013 by Melanie Perkins, Clifford Obrecht, and Cameron Adams, Canva is a graphic design platform used to create posters, social media graphics, documents, and visual content of any kind. Canva comes with preloaded templates for its users.
These templates consist of all types of visual content you can imagine ranging from posters, YouTube thumbnails, CVs, Wallpapers. Canva has both a free and paid version (Canva Pro and Canva Enterprise).
In December 2019, Canva announced Canva for Education, a free product for schools and other educational institutions intended to facilitate collaboration between students and teachers.
In June 2020, Canva announced a partnership with FedEx Office and with Office Depot the following month. As of June 2020, Canva’s valuation had risen to $6 billion and grew to $40 billion in September 2021, with co-founders Perkins and Obrecht announcing their plan to give away much of their fortune to numerous philanthropic causes.