Mobile devices give one the ability to block phone numbers and prevent any form of contact from the blocked number. Be it phone calls or text messages. It can leave one in a worrying state if they happen to be the one being blocked.
If it happens that someone has blocked you but you still need to text them an important message then the worry becomes how to text the person who has blocked you.
This article will therefore provide you with answers to the question “how to text someone who blocked you”. It is, however, important to be sure that you have been blocked before taking any action in that regard.
How To Know If You Have Been Blocked
In order to know whether you have been blocked by someone or not, you would have to pay attention to some things.
Some of the things you need to pay attention to in order to determine whether someone has blocked you include:
- Messages from your number to that specific person won’t be delivered but they would if it’s from another number. You can therefore try sending the message to a different number to see whether it goes through or not.
- Your calls will be directed to voicemail or just not be connected but the call will go through from another number,
- If blocked on social media (Facebook, Instagram or WhatsApp) you would be unable to search or find their account, see their profile, send them texts or see old or new posts from them.
If for some reason you have been blocked but you have to get in touch with the other party, there are some alternative ways you can use to get in touch with them.
Read till the end and you will definitely get one that would work perfectly for you.
Text Them Using A Different Number
The easily accessible method is to get in touch with a different number. You can get a new number or use a friend’s number to text.
Although the number can easily be blocked if the person finds out the message is from you, you would have already got them to know what you had wanted to let them know.
If you happen to find yourself in an area where there’s access to payphones, you can make use of the service.
Text Them Via Email
If you happen to know the email address of the person you want to reach, you can try reaching them through it. Mostly, people leave their email addresses on their social media profiles.
You can use your friend’s or another account to check if their email address is there. That is if you have been blocked on social media too.
They may be able to know you are the one sending them the mail depending on the address. Your message should be straight to the point.
How To Text Someone Who Blocked You on WhatsApp
Getting blocked on WhatsApp just like any other platform prevents one from connecting in any way. You won’t be able to send or receive texts, see their profile picture or view their status updates.
Notwithstanding, there are ways you can use in getting in touch with them. We will be looking at two ways to do that.
Creating a WhatsApp Group
Though you are unable to get directly in touch, you can still be in a WhatsApp group with them and send them a message on the group.
Get a mutual contact to add the two of you to the group they would create and the group can be used as the medium of communication.
To create a WhatsApp group, open WhatsApp and tap on the menu button (three vertical dots), and select New group. You would now be able to add the members of the group.
After the mutual contact creates the group you would be able to send messages to the group and the person would see. In order to let them get your message, you can tag them with your message by using the “@” symbol.
That mutual contact can leave the group so as to give you more privacy. Although you would be able to send messages to the person you won’t have full access to them like seeing their profile picture and status updates.
Have it in mind that they can decide to leave the group and if the mutual contact has not been allowed to add the person to a WhatsApp group on their setting they won’t be able to add them to the group.
Delete WhatsApp Account and Reactivate it
Deleting your WhatsApp account will remove it from the other person’s block list since your number is no longer registered with WhatsApp.
You must know that when you delete your WhatsApp account, all data whether backed up or not, would be lost. Your chats, images, and videos would be deleted as well. Also, you would be removed from any WhatsApp group you are currently in.
Make sure to weigh the option of deleting your WhatsApp account well and make sure deleting and losing all your data before being able to text someone who blocked you is worth it.
Follow these steps to delete your WhatsApp.
- Open WhatsApp and select the three vertical dots at the top right of the screen.
- Tap on Settings
- Now tap on Account and then privacy
- On the privacy page, tap on delete. A prompt will ask you to confirm delete. Select ok.
After deleting the account, open the app again and follow the steps to create the account again. You would now be able to text them again. However, they can still block you again.
Pass The Message Through Another Person
Using a different number to text the person who blocked you is cool but they may end up blocking you again if they realize you are the one texting them.
For that reason, you can let someone, a friend or a colleague text the person with their number and let them know what it is you want to tell them.
The message can be in this form. “Hey, good day. I’m Evans and Matthew ( the blocked person) has been trying to reach you but to no avail. However, he wants me to let you know that…” then proceeds to say the message. In this case, Evans is playing the role of an intermediary or a proxy.
Getting blocked sometimes can leave one with a mixed feeling and can be very annoying and painful. The option to block is very helpful in preventing spam messages and nuisance. If you happen to be blocked then it means that you don’t want to be heard from.
Save yourself the stress and preserve your energy and dignity by letting go but if you must pass a message then the steps above would be of help.